iMantra

Boy oh boy have I been slacking. Well, the opposite really. The non-Yogi job has been quite literally insane so my brain hasn’t been left with much added energy. With that said I felt I should at least get something on here so you fine yogis didn’t start to worry!

The one thing that I have learned from this week is how much a good mantra can help you in all situations. Since my yogi training I’ve loved keeping my mind in check with a simple “let go”. It works wonders throughout your asana practice and what I have recently discovered is the magic it does for “work” stress. I’m not the type that can leave work at the office so when I finally roll into bed my mind starts a fluttering with to-do lists, emails to write, ideas for a new campaign…To calm it down enough to get some shut-eye I simply start breathing and repeating my mantra in my head. Let go. Let go. Let go. Next thing I know I’m waking up (earlier then I would like) and well rested! I’ve even figured out how to channel it AT the office. Someone calls with the “ahhh! need this now” and before I can even think about stressing I look at my handy whiteboard and read “let go”. Smooth sailing from there. Stress reigned in, work accomplished, happy Brittney! All thanks to Mr. Mantra!

So my challenge (yes, challenge) is for you to think about what you love about being on your mat and try to apply it somewhere else this week. Whether it’s an actual pose (hey, rock on with some Gorilla Yoga) or some meditation… Maybe some Om’s in the elevator to calm you down. Whatever it is, just try and find that bliss off your mat in this crazy world of ours.

More to come soon – promise! -B

March 4, 2010. Tags: , , , , . Yogi Things.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

